Login / Register

User Name
Password

Search



Advanced Search

Advertisers

  #11  
Old 09-04-2006, 05:21 PM
TaLL|dUdE's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: HK
Posts: 452
TaLL|dUdE is a splendid one to beholdTaLL|dUdE is a splendid one to beholdTaLL|dUdE is a splendid one to beholdTaLL|dUdE is a splendid one to beholdTaLL|dUdE is a splendid one to beholdTaLL|dUdE is a splendid one to behold
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV22
I have started downloading from http://www.allofmp3.com/

you have to pay to download music...seems to be quite reasonably priced and safe...

has anyone used it? is it safe? any feedback about this website?
that's a russian site that isn't legal though... sites that sell songs/albums by the Beatles are a good indication that it's not legal.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-04-2006, 05:32 PM
jayinhongkong's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Age: 28
Posts: 3,186
jayinhongkong has a reputation beyond reputejayinhongkong has a reputation beyond reputejayinhongkong has a reputation beyond reputejayinhongkong has a reputation beyond reputejayinhongkong has a reputation beyond reputejayinhongkong has a reputation beyond reputejayinhongkong has a reputation beyond reputejayinhongkong has a reputation beyond reputejayinhongkong has a reputation beyond reputejayinhongkong has a reputation beyond reputejayinhongkong has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to jayinhongkong Send a message via MSN to jayinhongkong
heh, it might not be legal but it definitely gets you the music you want. not the fastest site in the world, though...
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-04-2006, 08:42 PM
AV22's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: HK
Age: 27
Posts: 14
AV22 is on a distinguished road
Question ?

What about http://www.alltunes.com/en-download.shtml

Anyone tried this?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-04-2006, 04:37 PM
TaLL|dUdE's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: HK
Posts: 452
TaLL|dUdE is a splendid one to beholdTaLL|dUdE is a splendid one to beholdTaLL|dUdE is a splendid one to beholdTaLL|dUdE is a splendid one to beholdTaLL|dUdE is a splendid one to beholdTaLL|dUdE is a splendid one to behold
http://www.techcrunch.com/2006/04/07...-music-part-1/
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-04-2006, 04:44 PM
Max's Avatar
Max Max is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: in an underground bunker at an undisclosed location
Age: 31
Posts: 1,311
Max has much to be proud ofMax has much to be proud ofMax has much to be proud ofMax has much to be proud ofMax has much to be proud ofMax has much to be proud ofMax has much to be proud ofMax has much to be proud ofMax has much to be proud of
Send a message via ICQ to Max Send a message via AIM to Max Send a message via MSN to Max Send a message via Yahoo to Max Send a message via Skype™ to Max
Quote:
Originally Posted by TaLL|dUdE
that's a russian site that isn't legal though... sites that sell songs/albums by the Beatles are a good indication that it's not legal.
I know a few more that are also based in Russia that offer paid music downloads (cheap! only US$0.10 a song!!). Here's the deal: they are legit, they are offering cheap downloadable music, they are based in Russia where copyright laws literally have their own version allowing sites like these to operate freely and with no legal hangups.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-04-2006, 04:54 PM
vmlinuz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Hong Kong, from UK
Age: 32
Posts: 550
vmlinuz is a splendid one to beholdvmlinuz is a splendid one to beholdvmlinuz is a splendid one to beholdvmlinuz is a splendid one to beholdvmlinuz is a splendid one to beholdvmlinuz is a splendid one to beholdvmlinuz is a splendid one to beholdvmlinuz is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via ICQ to vmlinuz Send a message via AIM to vmlinuz Send a message via MSN to vmlinuz
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV22
I have started downloading from http://www.allofmp3.com/

you have to pay to download music...seems to be quite reasonably priced and safe...

has anyone used it? is it safe? any feedback about this website?
I've been using it on and off for years - certainly since long before they doubled their prices to 2c/MB

The skinny seems to be that they are exploiting a loophole in Russian law. They are - or were - classified as a broadcast service, rather than a distribution service, and could therefore take advantage of compulsary licensing designed to reduce the power the music industry has over broadcasters. The theory was that you were not downloading a piece of music - they were broadcasting it to you and you were making a local copy of it, fair use, etc. etc.

As far as I know, this is technically legal in Russia. There have been stories of them having been investigated by the police, who found that while what they were doing was outside the intent of the law, it was close enough that they couldn't prosecute. The further point, in the US at least, is that the laws only covered the importation of physical media containing music - since an MP3 is not a physical piece of media, it isn't covered, and it is therefore legal - in theory - to import it.

In practice, it's obviously not legal, in the commonly-accepted sense. It does, however, seem to be safe and have a decent service with a decent amount of choice - you pays your money and you takes it :-)
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-04-2006, 10:36 PM
AV22's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: HK
Age: 27
Posts: 14
AV22 is on a distinguished road
I heard...

I have been reading several forums on the net around the world with this site www.allofmp3.com connected with credit card fraud.

has anyone had any trouble with this site?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-04-2006, 10:38 PM
AV22's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: HK
Age: 27
Posts: 14
AV22 is on a distinguished road
p.s.

p.s. only forums, there has been nothing on the news or on news websites!

People say it was just a rumour...I don't know who to believe!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply
Similar Threads
Thread Forum
iPOD speakers Technology & Gadgets
iPod - can I transfer music BACK from the iPod to my PC? Technology & Gadgets
Ipod Engraving? Shopping Forum
iPod Repair help Technology & Gadgets
Ipod Technology & Gadgets


Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


All times are GMT +8. The time now is 08:05 AM.